You are here
Home > Football > Nigeria U-23 heads to Korea, to train in USA

Nigeria U-23 heads to Korea, to train in USA

The Nigeria U-23 squad will on Monday begin its final preparations for the men’s football tournament of this year’s Olympics, when the delegation departs Nigeria for the Suwon Invitational Tournament.

Led by Samson Siasia, who also steered Nigeria’s last squad at the men’s football tournament of the Olympics (Beijing 2008) to runner –up spot, the African champions have self –belief they are good enough for gold in Rio de Janeiro in August.

“Not many people gave us a chance going to the African finals in Senegal. We love it that way because so much focus is on the other teams and we are able to concentrate on devising our own strategies.

“The last time I took the U-23 to the Olympics, we won silver. This time, we will aim for gold,” said Siasia.

Siasia has picked captain Azubuike Okechukwu, goalkeeper Emmanuel Daniel, defenders Stanley Amuzie and Segun Oduduwa, midfielders Usman Mohammed and Stanley Dimgba, forwards Taiwo Awoniyi and Saviour Godwin and 12 others for the invitational tournament. The list is made up of 12 home –based and eight overseas –based professionals.

After the tournament in Korea, the team will train in Manchester, United Kingdom before heading to Atlanta, United States of America, from where it will travel to Rio de Janeiro for the Olympics.

Atlanta, USA was the setting for Nigeria’s triumph at the men’s football tournament of the Olympics in 1996 – a first for an African country.

Nigeria will play in Group B of the tournament against Sweden, Colombia and Japan. Hosts Brazil, who lost 0-1 to Nigeria in a friendly in Brazil two months ago, head Group A which also has South Africa, Iraq and Denmark. Germany, Mexico, Korea Republic and Fiji make up Group C while Argentina, Honduras, Algeria and Portugal are in Group D.


  1. Emmanuel Daniel
  2. Yusuf Mohammed
  3. Emmanson Daniel
  4. Sincere Seth


  1. Ndifreke Effiong
  2. Segun Oduduwa
  3. Stanley Amuzie
  4. Julius Emiloju
  5. Erhun Obanor
  6. Saturday Erimuya
  7. Azubuike Okechukwu
  8. Usman Mohammed
  9. Stanley Dimgba
  10. Sodiq Popoola
  11. Saviour Godwin
  12. Taiwo Awoniyi
  13. Ubong Ekpai
  14. Abdulrahman Taiwo
  15. Nathan Oduwa

20. Tiongoli Tonbara

Leave a Reply